Contact Us
Bronxville Daily Voice serves Bronxville, NY
Return to your home site


Bronxville Daily Voice serves Bronxville, NY

Nearby Towns

Breaking News: Westchester Man Found Dead On Old Croton Aqueduct

Sarah Lawrence College Hosts Its Annual Athletics Banquet

BRONXVILLE, N.Y. -- The Sarah Lawrence College department of athletics and physical education held its annual Athletics Banquet at Noyes Court at the Campbell Sports Center.

Representatives of all 15 Sarah Lawrence varsity programs were recognized for their achievements in athletics and academics.

Winners of the 2014 Alice Stone Ilchman Scholar Athletes are senior and Greenwich resident Tori Close and junior Elliott Warkus.

Close was a dedicated member of the women's soccer team, helping the program in its first season as a varsity program. As an all-academic student-athlete in three sports, Warkus was starting goalkeeper for the men's soccer team, broke the men's swimming 200 yard backstroke record and played No. 1 doubles and No. 2 singles on the men's tennis team.

For the second year, sophomore Cameron Martinez was honored as athlete of the year. He was a part of 12 SLC records and posted the sixth-fastest time in the 200-yard butterfly among Division III swimmers.

Freshman Colette Harley was also selected as athlete of the year after going undefeated in the butterfly in every dual meet this season and setting six program records.

The department also recognized Newcomers of the Year Autumn Atkinson, Juliet Slade and Graham Gilleran.

The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee honored senior women's swimmer Dzana Ashworth with the SAAC Gryphon Award. Ashworth served as the committee's vice-president and was part of organizing philanthropic events throughout the year.

Thirteen Gryphons were presented with the Varsity Award for successful varsity participation in at least three academic years: Aman Banerji, Julian Bonte-Friedheim, Rodrigo Cuenca, Nate Currier, Uday Keith, Phil London, Camille Meder, Philip Naess, Jenai Richards, Doug Rubenstein, Philip Naess and Brent Terry.

In addition to department award selections, each team honored a Most Valuable Player and a recipient of the Coaches Award, recognizing spirit, dedication and determination. Sarah Lawrence equestrian also selected its annual Rasky Award recipient.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Bronxville Daily Voice!

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.